Good morning

Friday night was as boring as usual, but the Cubs won, so I’m glad about that. I also watched some of the Tigers game, which I didn’t see through the end, but as I expected, they lost again. 0-9. Actually, this isn’t the first time I’ve witnessed such a depressing start to a season. About 4 or 5 years ago, the Cubs went 0-14 (so I may not be exact, but I knew it was somewhere in the teens) to start the season. I remember this streak so well, because Harry Caray offered nickel beers at his restaurant until the Cubs won a game that season. Said my dad about the gimmick, “That’s almost worth the drive!!!” There were also news stories, and as you would expect, Harry Caray’s was quite crowded. Anyway, the Cubs turned it around enough so they didn’t finish with the worst record that season.

As I was browsing some news headlines, I saw that James Brooks apologized to Rio de Janeiro. My question is why? The show did nothing wrong in its satiric portrayal of Rio and Brazil, so an apology looks nothing more than to stop Rio from whining. I also was quite amused by his quote, “If that doesn’t settle the issue, Homer Simpson offers to take on the President of Brazil on Fox Celebrity Boxing.” But apologies should still be made only when you know you’ve done wrong. You may regret that someone feels bad because of your actions, but you’re not apologetic when what you do is right.

Leave a Reply

