What a weird All-Star game

I understand why it has to end in a 7-7 tie, but what I don’t get is the negative reaction from the fans. Don’t they realize that you don’t let the pitchers play on for so long in a game that doesn’t actually count? It’s as though the Milwaukee fans weren’t concerned about the pitchers’ health at all. They also chose no MVP, which I thought was totally unecessary. There should still be an MVP even though the game ends in a deadlock. It was a pretty exciting game for the most part. Now comes the second part of the season, and I’m probably not the only one who thinks the Cubs could use the extra day off. I don’t think they’ll make the playoffs this year, but I would hope that they would be able to finish with a winning record and at the least give themselves confidence to set their sights for next year. I will admit tha guys like McGriff and Alou are no longer as potent as they once were, and getting younger, more potent batters will have to be something the Cubs consider during the offseason. But then I’m thinking a bit far ahead, aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

