Ho-hum, just another week in the life of the mustard man

The highlight of the week must’ve been these little pins we had to distribute both throughout DRMS inhouse and the DRMOs. Each person had to get a pin, a letter from the commander, and a citation from Rumsfeld some award for excellence, I guess). Of course, I had to chuckle a bit when Carolyn and Bonnie talked about what happened last year, with pins getting lost in the mail and the phone calls that resulted. We were sure to tape up the packages really good, and sent them Priority so we wouldn’t get any whining about someone not getting theirs. Of course, it remains to be seen just how much whining will happen in the next few weeks. We already had people calling within the building saying they didn’t get enough, or they sent back any extras they had.

Last night was pretty cool. I went to the Frog because there was karaoke, but I didn’t sing. I need to get back into that groove. Jaime says she wants to do “Picture” with me, but I haven’t really decided on that yet. After that, I went down to the Rogues’ where I played the dart game Cricket with a few of my compadres from the Frog. At about 4:30, I decided to hit Sweetwater’s for a few donuts and some coffee. Have I ever said how excellent Sweetwater’s coffee is? Well, it does hit the spot before I go to bed at six. Of course, I plan to go back up to the Frog tonight to hear Kuz-in Waldo (however it’s spelled, but I think I have it right). Yep, it’s probably the first time I’ve come to my Mom’s and then went back the same night on a weekend. Mom might be shocked.

Damn, it’s going to be one long off-season. The Ducks ripped my heart out, I tells ya. ;'( All I have to root for now is the Cubs (don’t give a shit about the NBA), which are actually doing quite well this year (at least as far as April is concerned). Of course, I pity the fools who think the Tigers have a shot at anything. Their whole attitude is “Screw the veterans, let the youngters play!” As their record would indicate, I don’t think it’s working quite yet.

Leave a Reply

