2003, I hardly knew ye!

Yes, it is a new year, blah blah blah about stuff that you only think will change. I’m still the same person I was 23 and one-quarter years ago, but there’s certain things that have changed, and I’m starting to notice them more.

I worked today, but you could hardly notice it because the times I was actually doing work-related shit were few and very quick. That means more reading time for me. Gosh, I can’t believe how bad I am at reading books. Sometimes, I barely want to read at all, and other times, I’m quite involved in a book. I thought I’d enjoy a book about the history of Nokia, but I only returned that after barely reading the preface. I will read more books. It’s not a resolution, because that implies that I won’t do it. I do want to read more.

I also want to write more. People have always thought of me to be a good writer, but I’ve noticed that I’m not very descriptive. I’ll tell what goes on, but I’ll barely describe the setting. Good writers always have a way to make the reader feel personally involved. Of course, since much of my writing involves opinion, being descriptive hardly fits in. Maybe it’s time for me to try my hand at poetry again.

I’m still thinking about what I want to buy with all my gift cards. As everyone knows, I’m the pickiest buyer I know. I guess it just comes from being frugal. If I don’t pick up dinner someplace else, I may just order a couple pizzas and watch some movies. Papa John’s just sounds really tempting. Of course, any food I like sounds tempting, because I’m famished.

Leave a Reply

