The Wings’ season opener is tonight! Oh, right, the lockout thing :(

But there is at least some good news.  According to the Fox Sports listings, on Oct. 20, FSN Detroit will have a best of the Red Wings from the playoff series against Washington in ’98.  (We smoked ’em that year.)  I think it’s great that regional affiliates are showing past games, but I’m still waiting for the two sides to try to have some form of communication with each other.  Because once football season is over, there will be no sports that pique my interest between then and when baseball starts.  (Exhibitions don’t count, BTW.)  And with the Cubs totally blowing their postseason chances, I am one slightly dejected sports fan.  (At least the Lions are 3-1 [whee!], so it isn’t total dejection. ;p)

The debates are over, and I don’t think I learned anything new about either candidate.  (But then I’m one who pays attention to political things constantly.)  And while I’ll concede Kerry’s proposed health plan right now isn’t government-controlled, let’s ponder for a moment what could happen if he were to have the chance to implement his plan.  Kerry has said that he would want every American insured.  What happens if there are still some Americans out there who are without health insurance for, let’s say for the sake of argument, two years after Kerry’s plan is enacted?  Would Kerry come to the conclusion that the health insurance industry must now be in the public sector?  Given his previous record, I don’t see it as a stretch for him to eventually say we need a government-run health system.  I think that’s the only way every citizen will ever be insured, through socialized medicine.  This is precisely one of the reasons why I can’t trust John Kerry.  I don’t question that he wants to help people.  But the way in which he wants to go about it is certainly open to question.  He wants to have a sliver of government help at first, but if it fails, I don’t see how Kerry doesn’t take the next step and introduces more bureaucracy to the health system.  (Big rule of liberalism:  If government help doesn’t solve the problem, increase the role of government.)  The thought scares me, and it should scare anyone who think the role of government should be limited.

You see, I have never bought in to the rhetoric that emotionally appeals to people.  There has to be careful thought to whatever proposals anyone floats out there.  While I do think everyone ought to have health insurance, I think people don’t have a right to expect it from government or anyone else.  And while I realize that some people don’t have it right now, I believe that, because most people are compassionate, they will do whatever they can to help their friends in hardship, whether they do it themselves or through private charities.  Yes, there are ways to solve the problem of being uninsured.  But solely relying on government isn’t one of them.

Oh, and somehow I’m excited about the Louisville-Miami (FL) game tonight.  Go Cardinals!  (The preceding exclamation also applies to the NLCS.  Damn those Astros!)

Leave a Reply

